Private Messaging for LearnDash Settings - Honors WP
Settings

In your wp-admin > LearnDash LMS > Chat Settings, you’ll find the Messaging for LearnDash settings like this:

General Settings #

  • Restrict chats to only students and teachers — Set to “No” to allow chats between everyone on the site, set yes to only allow the students and admins (teachers) to interact.
  • Chat refresh frequency — The chat automatically refreshes to check for new messages by default every 30 seconds.
  • Delete database tables on deactivation — Default selection is set to “No”.
  • Allow users to delete message from chat — Options to restrict to course, group, and private chats.
  • Message can be deleted within (minutes) — Set the time for which a message can be deleted within.
  • Deleted message placeholder text — Set the text you want to display when a message is deleted. Default message is “Message was removed”
  • Allow users to edit chat messages. — Options to restrict to course, group, and private chats.
  • Messages can be edited for (minutes) — Set the time for which a message can be edited.

Private Chat Options #

The Private Chat Options are only available when “Restrict chats to only students and teachers” is set to “No”.

  • Allow Users to create private groups — Selecting “Yes” allows users (students) to create private groups amongest other users (students). Administrators/Instructors can still monitor these groups
  • Allow User to delete private messages — Selecting “Yes” allows users (students) to delete messages. Keeping this setting set to “No” allows for Administrators/Instructors to monitor messages.

Notifications & Recipients #

There are email reminders, which if enabled, and the user has a message they haven’t read for a certain amount of time (default 60 minutes), it’ll send them a single email reminder.

You can customize the email notification message, time, text, and link to your chat page.

Hide Chat from Specific Courses or Groups #

You can disable chat from specific courses and/or groups by selecting from the dropdown menu.

Chat Dashboard Colors #

You can also select from 3 color modes including Light and Dark mode.

Both Light and Dark modes can be adjusted to better suit your website aesthetic or brand colors.

Default Color Mode
Light Mode
Dark Mode

11 thoughts on “Settings”

    1. Hello!

      We are currently working on the ability to delete messages in the admin area.

      If you select “No” for “Restrict chats to only students and teachers” in the chat settings, you should be able to allow users to delete private messages.

    2. Hello Isabel!

      At the current moment, there isn’t another way to delete or reset chat messages but this is a feature we are currently working on and should have an update soon!

  1. Are Private Groups created only by the Group Leader/teacher on the front end? Are students able to create their own chat groups without the group leaders knowledge, or are group leader/teachers able to view all interactions between students in the Private Messaging plugin? Are the message groups created based on classroom or course? Thank you!

    1. Hello!

      Private groups can only be created on the frontend but we are working on a setting to allow the creation of private groups in the admin area. Students can create private groups but admins/teachers can view all groups and messages. The message groups are based on course. We have been working on updating our documentation to provide more clarity.

      Hope this helps and let us know if you have any other questions!

    1. Hi Isabel!

      If you go into the Chat Settings, selecting “Yes” for “Restrict chats to only students and teachers” should only allow teachers to initiate chats with students

  2. Hello,

    How may I customize the styled Chat Theme – to a different background colour and possibly add a logo?

    Thanks and regards,

    1. Hello,

      This is a feature the development team has been working on for this plugin and will be implemented in an updated version soon.

      Thank you and best regards,

  3. Is it possible to enable on certain groups and courses rather than ‘hide’ from groups and courses. When you have more then 30 groups and courses it makes it time consuming to have to hide each and every course / group just for it to show on one course or on one group.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

  • Your cart is empty.
Shopping Cart
  • Your cart is empty.
Scroll to Top