In your wp-admin > LearnDash LMS > Chat Settings, you’ll find the Messaging for LearnDash settings like this:
General Settings #
- Restrict chats to only students and teachers — Set to “No” to allow chats between everyone on the site, set yes to only allow the students and admins (teachers) to interact.
- Chat refresh frequency — The chat automatically refreshes to check for new messages by default every 30 seconds.
- Delete database tables on deactivation — Default selection is set to “No”.
- Allow users to delete message from chat — Options to restrict to course, group, and private chats.
- Message can be deleted within (minutes) — Set the time for which a message can be deleted within.
- Deleted message placeholder text — Set the text you want to display when a message is deleted. Default message is “Message was removed”
- Allow users to edit chat messages. — Options to restrict to course, group, and private chats.
- Messages can be edited for (minutes) — Set the time for which a message can be edited.
Private Chat Options #
The Private Chat Options are only available when “Restrict chats to only students and teachers” is set to “No”.
- Allow Users to create private groups — Selecting “Yes” allows users (students) to create private groups amongest other users (students). Administrators/Instructors can still monitor these groups
- Allow User to delete private messages — Selecting “Yes” allows users (students) to delete messages. Keeping this setting set to “No” allows for Administrators/Instructors to monitor messages.
Notifications & Recipients #
There are email reminders, which if enabled, and the user has a message they haven’t read for a certain amount of time (default 60 minutes), it’ll send them a single email reminder.
You can customize the email notification message, time, text, and link to your chat page.
Hide Chat from Specific Courses or Groups #
You can disable chat from specific courses and/or groups by selecting from the dropdown menu.
Chat Dashboard Colors #
You can also select from 3 color modes including Light and Dark mode.
Both Light and Dark modes can be adjusted to better suit your website aesthetic or brand colors.